Friday five: It’s bad enough I’m allergic to garlic*

You know how sometimes there are things EVERYONE likes so much that you’re almost afraid to admit you can’t stand them? I mean, now that college is in my somewhat distant past (10 years! Egad!) I feel less judged about hating Quentin Tarantino movies, thinking funk music is kinda boring, and finding Jack Kerouac to be the most overrated writer ever. But even as an adult, there are some things I have found that admitting a distaste for can stop a conversation dead in its tracks. Here’s a sampling:

1. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. Tell a person you don’t like this book, and she’ll look at you like you just drowned a puppy. Mostly I think because it is so many people’s FAVORITE book, which leaves me half convinced it’s the only book they’ve ever read.

2. Seinfeld. Hate. I have actually tried watching this show only because of the references that always come up in conversation: “You remember that episode of Seinfeld…?” Let me stop you right there – I don’t get Seinfeld references. “But you had to have seen the episode where….” Nope. “But…?” No. Really, really not. Now I’ve drowned a balding New Yorker puppy with crazy hair and bad dance moves. Luckily, the Seinfeld thing has died down substantially in recent years. Now it’s American Idol that I’m a bad, bad person for skipping out on.

3. The inspiration for this blog: Papyrus font. I feel most guilty of this hate, because I understand the most blatant overuse of Papyrus is by those who don’t spend a heck of a lot of time fixating on the intricacies of graphic design, so I guess in a way, yay for branching out there, but ugh. It attempts to scream ZEN! and ECO! and EARTH-LOVER! But it doesn’t print well, it looks super crappy online, and it’s ALL OVER THE PLACE.

4. Coldplay. Yeah, I said it.

5. To curb the angst, I’ll turn the tables for Item 5: Here’s one that turns the “No you di’in’t!” back on me. The other day at the beach, my 10 year old friend asked me who my favorite musical artist is, and in the moment, the name that popped into my head was Lady Gaga. Of course, I didn’t say this out loud. I pondered. She said, “Mine’s Lady Gaga.” And I said, “You know what? Me too.”

Have a great Friday, people. Enjoy your chips.

* Proper response: “You WHAT? That’s TERRIBLE! How can you LIVE?” Really, folks, I get by.

2 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said

    I didn’t think anyone would admit to *liking* Coldplay? (I kind of do, though.)

  2. K said

    I’ve got to admit, I’m a big fan of A Prayer for Owen Meany, but I can totally understand how John Irving’s endless ambiguously-homosexual-narrator-explores-sexual-perversity-in-New-England-and-oh-snap-maybe-something-about-religion?! could grate on people or prove uninteresting.

    Totally agree about the rest of your list, though — especially Papyrus! Ooh, or my favorite font for when people seek the utmost in class and fancyness: Monotype Corsiva. Save it for the epistolary portions of your Twilight Fanfic, kids.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

