Gardenation

I’ve been planting up a storm around here and holy crap is it hard work. Shoveling, wheelbarrowing, lugging buckets of water and containers of soil, ugh. And two weeks until my next chiropractic appointment! There will be much Taking Of The Advil and Moaning.

I’m going for a new theme in the raised bed this year. In the past, I’ve always had one area that does remarkably well and other areas that fail horribly, leaving bald patches in the soil. I’ve given each plant or seed the space begged for on its little stick or packet, and I’ve catered to its needs meticulously.

Yeah, that’s all out the window this year.

This year, I’ve thrown some seeds in, mixed in some seedlings here and there – perhaps on top of seeds, perhaps not – and only the strong will survive. Contrast this with the situation on my deck in which flowers, herbs, and veggies emerge neatly from various containers – and welcome to my brain. There are the neat, tidy, compartmentalized bits, and then there’s the untamed jungle.

So here’s what I’ve planted so far (I’m still going to plant potatoes and some impatiens, but THAT’S IT! I SWEAR!): arugula (rocket!), basil, other basil, swiss chard, spearmint, thyme, rosemary, parsley, sage, nasturtiums, petunias of various colors, gerbera daisies, scallions, salad mix, some cute little flowers I couldn’t resist that I may very well have already killed, cucumbers, raspberries, strawberries, pattipan squash, brandywine tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, sugar snap peas, snow peas, some kind of pole bean (can’t remember which), parsnips, acorn squash, and butternut squash.

Out of all that, something must feed us and something must still be pretty in August, right?

Oh, and swiss chard and pattipan squash will be ready to eat within days! And we already have strawberries!

And there are tiny lemons on our lemon tree!

And the wild blueberry bushes are out of control!

That is all.

060309_containergarden

The tidy, compartmentalized bits

Leave a Reply

