Big girl pants

When I was a junior in high school, there was a boy I liked and I really wanted to call him but was too scared. So I called my friend Yoda instead.

Yoda said something that has stuck with me to this day, and right now as I consider letting yet another day go by without working on my manuscript or sending out query letters because I’m just too damn scared, her words come back to me. They went something like this:

“Remember when you were a little girl and you wanted to do big girl things? Stop peeing your pants and do it already!”

I wrote her advice down on a piece of paper, which I stared at as I shakily dialed the cute boy’s number. And it worked! I called! And I don’t remember it ending badly. So I’m going to try it again, right here:

STOP PEEING YOUR PANTS AND DO IT ALREADY!!!

Leave a Reply

