Book reviews in Twitterese

Here are the books I’ve read in the past 4-5 months, reviewed in 140 characters or fewer a la Twitter. (Character max does not include citation or this would never work.)

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: I want to hang out with these guys. And with John Green. I hope the footnotes are specific to this book and not a JG habit.

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot: Wow, so different from the movie! And set in NYC! I am in love. How many books will it take for Mia and Michael to get together??

The Princess Diaries 2, Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot: Really, when will they get together? Mia takes everything in stride but still lets people take advantage. Can’t wait to see her grow a pair.

The Princess Diaries 3, Princess in Love by Meg Cabot: I cannot tire of Mia. Love this girl. Can’t WAIT for the imminent hookup. Payoff? YAY!! How do I not yet have the next book?? Must buy nao.

Slam by Nick Hornby: So impressed by creation of likable characters who make poor choices but keep you caring. Love the Tony Hawk conversations. Great device.

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory: History through showing instead of telling is PG’s forte. This book is all tell and no show. Couldn’t finish. So disappointing.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: Such a great bedtime book. Would be lovely to read with a child. Love the etiquette-through-the-ages presented by ghosts of different eras.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz: So engaging, but too heartwrenching for me. This is why I stick with kids’ books. Can’t finish. I still want to know what happens though.

Gossip Girl (books 1 and 2) created by Cecily von Ziegesar: Better than expected, with moments I really liked. A boardroom full of writers can’t be wrong. I want my own team of writers!

The Clique (books 1 and 2) by (or created by?) Lisi Harrison: I hate these characters. All of them. The mean ones are SO mean and the one I’m supposed to care about is lame and whiny. HATE.

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer: Just because your books make craploads of money doesn’t mean you should be able to bore me with backstory. And people have sex, dammit.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll: Surprisingly lacking in plot and not as clever as I remembered. Norton Juster is much better. Would this find representation today?

This was fun. I’ll have to do it again sometime! OK, back to Twitter!

Leave a Reply

