Seven secrets on inauguration day

1. I don’t talk about politics EVER if I can avoid it. I am the political black sheep of my family, and I’ve always found it easier to keep my mouth shut. From this habit, I’ve developed a strong respect for people’s right to vote privately. No matter what you say or don’t say outside of that polling booth, no one has a right to know which little box you fill with indelible ink.

2. I don’t like hearing other people talk about politics. It makes me uncomfortable, actually. Because I feel like they want me to participate. And I absolutely don’t want to participate. People know how they feel and you can’t change people, and that’s their right. But people sometimes act like they know how I feel, and either they are way off base, which drives me bananas, or they’re right on point, which also drives me bananas. I don’t like the feel of someone else’s words in my mouth, and I prefer to keep mine to myself.

3. I think most people have something interesting to say if you can stop arguing with them in your head long enough to listen. No matter where you stand. People’s beliefs come from their own personal history and experiences – whether from emigrating, from military service, from having a uterus, etc. – and no one’s opinions deserve to be discounted.

4. I believe we all essentially want the same things for our country and for ourselves: safety for ourselves and for our families, economic security, the freedom to make our own life choices. To me, everything falls under one of these headers in context.

5. I’m afraid that through my last statement, I’ve opened myself up for follow-up argument, which, as stated in item 1, I would prefer not to participate in. I could – I mean, I really thought that through – but I’d rather not.

6. I’m frightened by the celebrity spectacle that politics seems to have become recently. There’s a lot of work to be done around here, and no matter how many Hollywood stars parade around squealing with excitement and joy, people need to sit back and let these folks get to their desks. This is no-joke serious stuff; it’s not a damn New Year’s Eve party for crying out loud.

7. Now scooch close, because here is my final secret. It’s the big one. The one I saved for last, because it’s juicy, and I can’t wait to type it, and the anticipation is nearly killing me. Ready? OK, here it is: I’m really excited. Like, really excited. And I’m not going to go into much detail, because some people say you’re not supposed to vote or choose or believe with your gut, but I don’t know how else you can do it, because I think even when you do your research, the questions you set out to answer come from somewhere – your history, your needs, all those things that are essentially you – and all that information lives right down deep in your belly, right in your very core. And that, my friend, is your gut. And right now, my gut is fuckin’ psyched.

2 Comments »

  1. Conor said

    Nice job on this entry!!! I agree 100% totally with your entry (being the political “black sheep” in my school). I think part of today’s problem in schools is there are the few kids who are informed amongst a group of friends are not and those who are uninformed vote one way because their best friend “Jonny” votes the same way. I am not sure about this but it seems as if it sets the stage for when the voting really counts. I may be wrong but it just seems that way to me.

    The two things I never talk about with someone whom I am not close are religion and politics. Granted religion never really comes up in my conversation, but still. I do however like to debate politics with few of the informed (normally the upperclassmen) If they are fine with it, I could go all day talking about politics with them.

    I also agree on how you think that Hollywood has gotten their pretty little “fingers” on the political system. You are right, there is too much work to be done and they go around like its a New Year’s Eve party. However, I think it also helps as well. Seeing MTV’s “chose or lose” segments briefly I think that it can do justice to the 18-24 age group who are so vital to the political system. (If only there were a MTV for senior citizens…haha.) It also is a double edged sword because if a celebrity “endorses” a candidate, it sends two messages two the average person: “Wow Joe Millionaire votes for so-and-so, I’ll go vote myself!” or “Wow Joe Millionaire voted for so-and-so, I’m going to vote the same way!” Unfortunately, the second of the two is dangerous because that person could be ill-informed. That’s why it is probably better for celebrities to stay out of politics publicly.

    In the end, who someone votes for is up to that person and they should vote with their gut. I also think people should get the full, unbiased report on a candidate before they make a decision. Now I could be wrong, but this is my view on the “political system from the outside looking in.” (In other words, I don’t want to sound ignorant or offend anyone by writing this.)

    • ifyoubelievethenclap said

      Thanks, Conor! Well said.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

