I’m almost back

Many times throughoutย  the month of November, I thought about how I should have done a little TTFN-type blog entry before ceasing all communication with the blog world and embarking on the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge. But I didn’t. And then once I was fully into the NaNo-ing, there was NO WAY I was going to spare a SINGLE word in a non-NaNo-related forum.

I didn’t make it all the way to the 50K goal, but I did make it to 30K before leaving for a trip to Bermuda mid-month. I did stick to the 1667-word daily average that is necessary to “win” NaNo, so I could have done it given the time, but once I got the sweet taste of Vacation (followed by the savory taste of Thanksgiving Turkey), there was no going back.

I think all in all I accomplished most of what I set out to do. I have two scenes left to write in the first draft of the piece I was working on, so that said, I quite nearly completed a novel in a month. I discovered that my novel would not end up being 50K words anyway, which research proved was quite acceptable for a young adult manuscript, so there’s that.

I was forced to remember that I can work under pressure, in a way I hadn’t experienced since college, and that 2000 words can be broken down, and that you can always write 100 more words, then 50 more words, then easily eke out another 25…etc. I realized writing is hard, which Dave got to hear me whine about numerous times, once with two or three actual tears.

Though I think all in all the experiment was a success – and I have a stack of paper to prove it – there were a few things that I didn’t love. First of all, I missed reading. To write well, it is so important to read, and I didn’t have the time or the mental capacity to read anything while writing at such a pace. Also, I had a nice schedule going, which the project definitely disrupted. Once I had thrown in the towel, I needed a serious break. But I don’t think I would have produced the output I produced without the intensity of the deadlines.

I’m very happy with what I’ve written. And that’s saying a lot, because I haven’t even reread it yet, and it could be dreadful. But there has to be something good in there.

Posting will be patchy through the holidays, but I’m back. Now, what the hell happened to WordPress while I was gone? Everything’s all crazy!

1 Comment »

  1. Sada said

    Thank God. I’ve missed you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

