NaNoWriMo

I’ve been trying to decide whether to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I signed up last year or the year before and wrote once, but this year is a lot different seeing as I’ve been writing fairly regularly. I didn’t want to do it without a specific project in mind, and I’d like to use it as an opportunity to try something different – an entirely different approach to my process. I want to go into it researched, plotted, and character-sketched, i.e., completely prepared. Well, last night I came up with my plan.

I spent the hours of 3-4 a.m. lying awake thinking up the story, and I’m very excited about it. This morning, I wrote out longhand the character list and the plot overview. I might be a bit more secretive about this one. It’s too close to me, I think, to share. I’m borrowing from my favorite book ever written, so I want to do it proud. Maybe I’ll post excerpts when I write something I’m particularly proud of.

I’m taking a hiatus from Hottie Farmer. I finally wrote the date scene, and it is so wrong. On so many levels. It’s laden with unintended double entendre and needs to be completely deleted and reimagined. Plus, I need a break. I need to step out of that one and figure some things out before I proceed. Oh, and the working title I found amusing months ago just annoys the crap out of me now.

Leave a Reply

