UES bound

I’m heading to New York Sunday for a couple weeks to do some reasearch for Hottie Farmer. I’m hoping that a change of scenery will help get the juices flowing. There’s something to be said for finding a place to write where you aren’t surrounded by dirty laundry and piles of day-job work and a million other distractions.

When I’m at my sister’s in New York, we fall into a nice routine, mostly around Addy’s napping schedule. Last time I was there for an extended period of time (i.e., not in a two day frenzy of uninterrupted activity) was when Addy was two weeks old and Shannon was still recovering from childbirth. It will be fun to be back there a year later, now that Addy’s fully mobile and Shannon’s not all beat up, and I’m the only houseguest. Maybe we’ll do some of the things I still haven’t gotten around to, like check out MOMA or the Guggenheim. Probably not, but a girl can dream.

So my goals for the trip are to write every day, take a break from the ordinary, read a ton of YA and middle grade fiction, get some background on Victoria – what her place in NY would look like, what her classmates act like, what it would feel like for her at home, and from that, what it would feel like away from home – rest, regroup, and be inspired.

I hope to come back with my batteries recharged, ready for a productive fall. Seeing as I’m already feeling pretty productive, I’m psyched to see what that means.

There will be blog posting aplenty going on all week, so check back.

1 Comment »

  1. Dave said

    you go girl!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

